Tags

, ,

Brr it’s cold outside. I was walking to work today in said cool temperatures and thinking about winter boots. I’m contemplating a pair of Sorels, 2 contenders have been eyes at Get Outside, to be exact. However the city is void of snow, which also made me consider whether or not it was worthwhile purchasing boots in the first place. Although I can’t exactly praise my Converse sneakers for their insulating or waterproof capabilities, my feet just shivered thinking about it. Luckily I came across some warm-up goodies while perusing Cube Me, check it out:

 

Dutch designer, Bauke knottnerus whom studied at Design Academy Eindhoven is based out of Rotterdam. His Phat Knit series is created from oversized foamy threads knitted into rotund bundles, which is without a doubt “pretty hot and tempting”.

Sorbet colours and a cool grey set off these creations which have the feel of an overscaled study from Stitch ‘n Bitch. The sky blue area type rug in particular reminds me of the first pot holder I made out of hot loops. Man those were some crafty days. Now I’m imagining a Phat Knit sock, which you can curl up into with a good read may I suggest, A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz.

Knottnerus, according to DesignBoom actually knits with giant needles leading me to question why I haven’t made to move to the Netherlands. It seems slightly fantastical to imagine knitting at an inflated scale but I’m sure after a session at the coffee shop all logistics were carefully taken into consideration. I wonder if the Hot Box would consider a re-design to include some knitted knick-knacks?

